Finethic

Real Value, Real Economy

Factsheet
Contact

What you are looking for

  • Achieve an attractive, uncorrelated and low volatility yield, while making a positive social impact.
  • Make sense of your money.

What we do

  • Work with experts in impact finance and microfinance.
  • Refinance institutions in emerging countries to support the creation of value in the local economy.

What we offer

  • A fund diversified into two sub-funds, focusing on access to capital for micro-entrepreneurs and SMEs in emerging countries.
  • Systematic currency hedging and stringent loan control.
  • A solid and sustainable performance.
  • A strong track record, a proven method.

The Fundo capital gain

Since 2006, we are a committed team of asset managers working closely with leading microfinance advisors. Our objective: to generate attractive returns for customers through Finethic products that have an economic and social impact in more than 40 countries.

Born from the failure of international humanitarian initiatives, microfinance has established itself as an alternative development strategy. It is based on the idea that it is more effective to finance entrepreneurial projects to sustainably improve people’s lives in the poorest countries than simply to support them without promoting value creation. Through two sub-funds of a Luxembourg fund, Finethic refinances microcredit institutions, giving meaning to the invested assets.

Finethic Microfinance

The Finethic Microfinance sub-fund does not lend directly to individuals but to local microfinance institutions and banks that independently manage their own client portfolios. Since inception in 2006, Finethic Microfinance has provided loans to more than 180 of these institutions in some 40 countries for a total amount exceeding $700 million. Finethic Microfinance offers investors a regular and predictable performance. Extensive diversification, absence of currency risk and limited investments in debt have enabled sustained long-term profitability to be achieved.

Finethic Microfinance II

One of the major challenges in emerging countries remains the limited share of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) in the economy. While in developed countries their share represents more than 50% of GDP and more than 60% of employment, SMEs represent respectively less than a fifth (17%) and less than a third (30%) in these low-income countries. This gap is also commonly known as “The Missing Middle” in sustainable finance.

In addition to the lack of regulatory, policy and infrastructure frameworks, one of the main reasons for this gap is still access to capital. Investments in SMEs in emerging countries offer an increasing opportunity to contribute to the strengthening of financial intermediation and the promotion of investment policies that promote a more equitable distribution of the economic growth of the countries concerned.

The Finethic Microfinance II sub-fund was launched based on the same principles as the first sub-fund, with an investment universe including structures emanating from non-banks and having evolved towards organizations with banking status. These specialized banks, generally with customer savings, have a broader financial activity, offering loans to SMEs, large companies, for education, consumption and real estate, in addition to microloans.

Following strong demand from institutional investors and pension funds for risk-adjusted responsible investments with attractive returns, the Finethic Microfinance II sub-fund was launched at the end of March 2016. Based on broad diversification, systematic currency hedging and purely debt-based investments, Finethic Microfinance II targets a sustained long-term return.

Finethic

Valeur réelle, économie réelle

Factsheet
Contact

Ce que vous cherchez

  • Dégager un rendement attractif, décorrélé et peu volatile, en faisant œuvre utile.
  • Donner du sens à votre argent.

Ce que nous faisons

  • Travailler avec des experts de la finance d’impact et de la microfinance.
  • Refinancer des institutions dans les pays émergents pour soutenir la création de valeur de l’économie de proximité.

Ce que nous proposons

  • Un fonds diversifié en deux compartiments, ciblés sur l’accès au capital des micro-entrepreneurs et des PME des pays émergents.
  • Une couverture systématique du risque de change et un contrôle strict des prêts.
  • Une performance solide et durable.
  • Une longue expérience, une méthode éprouvée.

La plus-value Fundo

Depuis 2006, une équipe engagée de gérants d’actifs travaille en étroite collaboration avec des conseillers reconnus dans le domaine de la microfinance. Notre objectif: dégager des rendements attractifs pour la clientèle, à travers les produits Finethic qui ont un impact économique et social dans plus de 40 pays.

Née du constat de l’échec des initiatives humanitaires internationales, la microfinance s’est imposée comme une stratégie alternative en matière de développement. Elle repose sur l’idée qu’il est plus efficace de financer des projets entrepreneuriaux pour améliorer durablement le sort des populations des pays les plus pauvres que de simplement les soutenir sans favoriser la création de valeur. A travers deux compartiments d’un fonds de droit luxembourgeois, Finethic refinance des institutions de microcrédit, donnant du sens aux avoirs investis.

Finethic Microfinance

Les produits Finethic Microfinance ne prêtent pas directement à des individus mais à des institutions de microfinance locales et des banques de pays frontières qui gèrent indépendamment leurs propres portefeuilles de clients. Depuis sa création en 2006, Finethic Microfinance a octroyé des prêts à plus de 180 de ces institutions dans quelque 40 pays pour un montant total qui dépasse 700 millions de dollars. Finethic Microfinance offre à ses investisseurs une performance régulière et prévisible. La diversification poussée, l’absence de risque de change et des investissements limités à de la dette ont permis d’atteindre une rentabilité soutenue à long terme.

Finethic Microfinance II

Un des grands défis dans les pays émergents reste la part limitée de petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) au sein de l’économie. Alors que dans les pays développés, leur part représente plus de 50% du PIB et plus de 60% de l’emploi, les PME en constituent respectivement moins d’un cinquième (17%) et moins du tiers (30%) dans ces pays à faible revenu. Cet écart est également communément connu comme «The Missing Middle» dans la finance durable.
Outre le manque de cadres régulatoires, politiques et infrastructurels, une des raisons majeures pour cet écart reste néanmoins l’accès au capital. Les investissements dans les PME dans les pays émergents offrent une opportunité croissante de contribuer au renforcement de l’intermédiation financière et à la promotion de politiques d’investissements qui favorisent une distribution plus équitable de la croissance économique des pays concernés.

Le compartiment Finethic Microfinance II a été lancé en se basant sur les mêmes principes que le premier compartiment, avec un univers d’investissement incluant des structures émanant du non-bancaire et ayant évolué vers des organisations à statut bancaire. Ces banques spécialisées avec généralement de l’épargne de clients, ont une activité financière élargie, offrant au-delà des emprunts micro des crédits aux PME, aux larges entreprises, pour l’éducation, la consommation et l’immobilier.

Suite à la demande prononcée de la part d’investisseurs institutionnels et de caisses de pensions pour des investissements responsables à rendement attrayant ajusté au risque, le compartiment Finethic Microfinance II a été lancé fin mars 2016. Basé sur une large diversification, une couverture systématique du risque de change et des investissements purement axés sur de la dette, Finethic Microfinance II cible un rendement soutenu à long terme.